Please note, VLJ's Divorce Clinics are cancelled for the month of May, but will resume in June. The next post-filing clinic is scheduled for Thursday, June 1st at 2:00, and the next seminar and filing clinic is scheduled for Thursday, June 8th at noon.
VLJ offers two monthly workshops for people needing help with divorce issues.
Divorce Filing Workshop
The Divorce Filing workshop is for people who want to file for divorce. This walk-in program (no appointment required) begins with a legal seminar about the divorce process in New Jersey. The seminar is led by an experienced family law attorney, is open to everyone and is required if you would like to apply for an attorney to help you with your divorce paperwork. If you would like a lawyer’s help, you need to fill out an application and be screened for eligibility after the seminar. To qualify, you must be a resident of Essex County or have a divorce to be filed in Essex County AND meet our financial guidelines. Depending upon demand, you may be at the workshop for 2-5 hours. You must arrive by 12 pm to participate in the program.
Divorce post-filing workshop
VLJ’s second monthly workshop is for people who have an active divorce case in Essex County and need help with the next steps in the divorce process. This is a walk-in program (no appointment required) and you will have the opportunity to meet with a lawyer to answer questions you may have or to help you fill out paperwork to file with the court. To qualify, you must be a resident of Essex County or have an active divorce case in Essex County and meet our financial eligibility guidelines. Depending upon demand, you may be at the clinic for up to 3 hours. You must arrive by 2 pm to participate in the program.
When and where:
Both monthly workshops are held at the Family Courthouse, Wilentz Justice Complex, 212 Washington Street, 10th Floor, Room 1070, and Newark, NJ. This courthouse is near the Newark City subway.
The Divorce Filing workshop is held on the 2nd Thursday of every month from 12:00-5:00 pm.
The Post-Filing workshop is held on the 1st Thursday of every month from 2:00-5:00 pm.
Other details: Bring your proof of income (3 paystubs, W-2 or disability award letter), copy of any recent court orders, previously filed divorce papers, and any other relevant documents. There is no child care available at this workshop. Parking is available on the street and in pay lots and the building is close to public transportation.